The Marketing ROI report can be found in the Reports module.
The ROI report helps you track how much you are spending to acquire leads and how much revenue those leads are generating.
This report operates by move date. For multi-day opportunities, the date of the first move determines which month the opportunity will appear on.
Example: An opportunity with a pack date of 4/30/2020, and a move date of 5/1/2020, would appear on your ROI report for May, not April.
You can use this report to evaluate how much you are spending on different sources, and how much revenue you are earning in relation to your spending. We recommend you pay close attention to the "% spent" for each source. In general, a well-performing source should have a "% spent" of 10% or less. While it is normal for some sources to vary and be higher than that, you should strive to maintain 10% or less for your overall "% spent" across sources.
What does each column mean?
The Marketing ROI report shows you each source (both lead providers and referral sources) you have configured. For each of these, you can see the total number of opportunities with a move date in the month, the number of those opportunities that were booked, the number that were fully completed, as well as the number lost, cancelled, or marked as bad.
The actual revenue and average move value for each source is also shown. These columns are based on the revenue received from completed or closed opportunities for that source.
The marketing spent, cost per lead, etc. are explained in the next section.
How is the cost per lead determined?
The cost per lead, as well as the overall marketing spent, is determined by a few different factors. For lead providers that send in a cost-per-lead, or where you had previously set the cost-per-lead in your lead provider settings, the marketing spent is the total of those amounts. For example, if you received 3 opportunities from Move Matcher with a move date in the reporting period, and the cost for those opportunities was $10, $11, and $10, the marketing spent would be $31, and the cost per lead would be the average value of $11.
For opportunities from referral sources, or from lead providers where a cost per lead is either not configured or isn't specified directly by the lead provider, your configured marketing spend is used. The marketing spend is used to determine a cost for each opportunity in the reporting period, but the spend is based on when the opportunity was created.
Example: You configured a marketing spend for Google AdWords of $15 per lead for March, and $20 per lead for April. An opportunity received in March with a move date in April would have a cost of $15, not $20, because the cost per lead was $15 for the month the opportunity was received.
How is my percent spent determined?
The "percent spent" for a given source tells you how much you spent for a source relative to the actual revenue for that same source. It is marketing spent divided by the actual revenue:
Example: Two opportunities for Google were completed during the reporting period out of a total of 4 received. The cost per lead was $100, so the total marketing spent would be $400. The actual revenue from the 2 completed jobs was $1000. Therefore, the % Spent for Google would be 40%.
How is acquisition cost determined?
Acquisition cost is simply the total you spent for a given source divided by the number of moves that were completed for that source.
Example: You spent $100 on Google overall and completed two moves. The acquisition cost for Google would be $50 for the reporting period.