Skip to main content

Resolve QuickBooks Sync errors

How to review and resolve QuickBooks Sync errors

Written by Michelle Carone

Important: To see and resolve QuickBooks Sync errors, you must have access to the Accounting section in SmartMoving. Additionally, the QB Sync Errors tab will only be available if QuickBooks Sync is enabled.

Navigate to Accounting > QB Sync Errors (or click here to go directly to the page).

Viewing errors

Errors are organized into groups in the left list:

  • Moving Invoices, Moving Payments, Moving Refunds, Moving Retracted Payments

  • Storage Invoices, Storage Payments, Storage Refunds, Storage Retracted Payments

  • Commercial Invoices, Commercial Payments, Commercial Payment Refunds, Commercial Retracted Payments

If there are unresolved errors, a red circle will appear near the error category with the number of unresolved errors.

QB Sync Errors group list with Moving, Storage and Commercial groups.

Note: Unresolved errors are shown by default, but you can click the filter above the error table to view previously resolved errors.

Click View Details to view a brief description of the cause of the error.

Note: If errors read "QuickBooks has been disconnected from your account.", reconnect QuickBooks before resyncing. See the Reconnect QuickBooks Online section of Connect to QuickBooks Online, then click Retry on each error.

Resolving an error

In SmartMoving

To resolve errors in SmartMoving, click the job account number to open the item with an error.

Then, make any adjustments and resync the item to update it with QuickBooks.

Note: You can resync from the job view or from the QuickBooks Sync Errors view.

In QuickBooks

If the error is resolved in QuickBooks, click the item menu and select Mark Resolved.

Then, click Yes, mark resolved.

Note: The error will then show as crossed out. However, once you return to the category error list, the item will no longer be listed under Unresolved but will be present under the Resolved filter.

If an error previously marked as resolved now needs to be returned back to unresolved, you can click Mark Unresolved to change the status.

Did this answer your question?