Skip to main content

Close a storage account

How to close out an active storage account

Written by Michelle Carone

Once your storage customer has moved out, you can close the account and make the containers available for future use. To close an account, the customer cannot have a balance due. See Zeroing out a storage balance below for actions you can take if a balance is owed.

Closing a storage account

Method 1: From the Accounts tab, click the menu icon next to the account you wish to close, and select Close.

SmartTip: To move an active residential storage account to a commercial account instead, select Close & Create Commercial Account from the same menu. See Moving a Residential Storage Account to a Commercial Account. Available to companies with Smart Pro.

Method 2: On the account page, click the Close account icon.

Once you click Close using either method, a pop-up will notify you of the account balance and how many containers will be released. The account balance must be $0 before it can be closed.

Zeroing out a storage balance

If a storage account needs to be closed but currently has a remaining balance due, you can either

  • Take a payment for the remaining balance

  • Delete the outstanding invoice

  • Edit the invoice to reduce the charges

Did this answer your question?